Oct 10, 2016, Brussels

The Board of Directors of ECSO (European Cyber Security Organisation), elected on Friday, 7 October, Mr. Philippe Vannier as Chairman of ECSO.

ECSO is a Belgian Association supporting the development, promotion, growth and sustainability of a cybersecurity market and ecosystem in Europe.

“With our strong assets, I believe that ECSO will be the right organization at the right time to address all the cybersecurity challenges Europe is facing. With all ECSO members, we aim at supporting the development of a sustainable European trustworthy cybersecurity industry providing an adequate level of security and trust in the digital economy and society”, Philippe Vannier said.

Philippe Vannier is the 1st elected Chairman of ECSO. He is currently Executive Vice-President of Big Data & Security and Chief Technology Officer at Atos Group. He has been CEO of the Bull Group since May 2010. He is also the Chairman and founder of Crescendo Industries, which he founded in 2004, Bull’s largest shareholder. Philippe Vannier is a graduate of ESPCI ParisTech and of INSEAD AMP. He also holds a DEA Génie électrique et Instrumentation from the University Paris IV. He began his career at Michelin North America, then Cobham Group and Alcatel.

The ECSO Board members also elected Mr. François Lavaste, Head of CyberSecurity at Airbus Defence and Space as well as Mr. Guillaume Poupard, Director General of ANSSI (Agence Nationale de la Sécurité des Systèmes d’Information) as ECSO Vice Chairmen.

The European Cyber Security Organisation (ECSO) ASBL is a fully self-financed non-for-profit organisation under the Belgian law, established in June 2016.
ECSO represents an industry-led contractual counterpart to the European Commission for the implementation of the Cyber Security contractual Public-Private Partnership (cPPP). ECSO members include a wide variety of stakeholders such as large companies, SMEs and Start-ups, research centres, universities, clusters and association as well as European Member State’s local, regional and national administrations, countries part of the European Economic Area (EEA) and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and H2020 associated countries.